Today’s Lesson: Being Maced Sucks Ass

I was coming out of the gym around 7:30 tonight, and going into the Columbia Heights Metro station, this incredibly pungent smell assaulted my nose. My first thought was that some fucker detonated a stink bomb in the station, but as I descended down the escalator, I started to cough violently, and my eyes started to tear uncontrollably.

By the time I made it down to the station, I knew what that fucking smell was: it was mace. And there it was: two cops were macing this one guy as a struggle ensued. I don’t know what the fuck that guy did, but it was serious enough that the cops had to mace him. By this time, I, along with everyone else in the station, was trying to get the fuck out, because the mace was seriously spreading.

So today’s lesson is this: don’t ever get maced. If just being in the vicinity of mace can cause violent coughing, tearing, and difficulty of breathing, imagine what the fuck it feels like to be sprayed in the face with that shit.

One Response to “Today’s Lesson: Being Maced Sucks Ass”

  1. stevedavis78 Says:

    I was down there when it happened. I think some kid tried to jump the turnstile from what I heard before I came up the stairs by the station manager. When I came up off the train, he was at the western turnstiles sitting on his butt, with one police officer telling him that he was getting arrested. He told him a bunch of times to roll over on his stomach (so he could cuff him). The kid said “he wasn’t turning over for nothing” and kept spinning around as the cop tried to lay him down. I walked halfway through that corridor and was watching from near the payphone and metro map. One of his friends was standing nearby video’ing the whole thing with his cellphone. The cop said he was going to spray him if he didn’t flip over, and then he pulled out the pepper spray (don’t think it was mace) and sprayed a cloud right in that kids’ face, who started coughing and rolled over immediately. I stood there for a second, felt a breeze coming my way, and then got one little mouthful of the shit and started coughing myself. At that moment, everyone nearby starts taking off for the escalators, one lady threw up, and about 4 people jumped the “out” turnstiles to get down to the platform (because he was right in front of the “in” ones). You could feel the breeze going out the hallway and up the escalators. Everyone was coughing and gagging and running for fresh air. It was surreal.


Leave a Reply

