Astrology and Congressional Voting Behavior

You learn something everyday: for instance, did you know that you could sort Congressional roll-call votes on the Washington Post by, of all things, astrological sign?

I found this out while working at my internship today. I had to look up how the House voted on H.R. 5351, titled “Renewable Energy and Energy Conservation Tax Act of 2008.” What a mouthful, try saying that quickly three times.

When I found out that I could sort the vote by astrological sign, I was confounded. After all, what is the point of being able to sort by astrological sign? Is the Washington Post suggesting that there could possibly be a correlation between a Congress member’s voting behavior and his/her astrology?

But who knows, this could be an interesting research experiment. I would not be the least bit surprised if some poor, debt-ridden, chain-smoking, coffee-drinking, starving poli sci grad student has already designed this experiment.

If not, then this post will serve as a reminder for me to design my own experiment when I go into grad school.

Who knows, maybe with enough empirical data, we might one day find out what exactly is the connection of being born in a certain time of the year and the tendency to oppose modifying the IRS revenue code to give incentive to companies producing renewable energy.

Leave a Reply

